Longs Peak Council Logo separator

Longs Peak Council

Boy Scouts of America


Aims of Scouting:

  • build character
  • foster citizenship
  • develop fitness (mental, emotional, physical & moral)

Methods of Scouting:

  • ideals (oath, law, slogan, motto,...)
  • patrols
  • outdoors (6 of the 8 letters in Scouting spell "outing")
  • advancement
  • personal growth
  • adult association
  • leadership development
  • uniforms

Scouting definition of advancement: the art of meeting a challenge

As Scouts master skills they move up through the six Boy Scout ranks, each more demending than the last, and each qualifing them for more exciting fun and bigger challenges.

There are four steps to advancement in Scouting:

  1. The Boy Scout learns by doing
  2. The Scout is tested (troop policy and procedures)
  3. The Scout is reviewed (board of review)
  4. The Scout is recognized (court of honor)
The requirements for Tenderfoot, Second Class and First Class are largely hands-on and progress through three levels of cgallenges. Tenderfoot: treat simple blisters, Second Class: treat for shock, First Class: transport somebody with a broken leg.
Advancement is very flexible. A scout need not wait until he has passed Tenderfoot to work on Second Class or First Class requirements, but may work on all three at the same time. BUT, the scout must earn the ranks in sequence. All scouts work at their own pace - there are no deadlines (other than no rank requirements may be performed after the age of 18 without special approval). By First Class, each scout should be:
  • a good outdoorsman
  • physically fit
  • active in his troop and patrol
  • informed and active as a citizen
  • showing scout spirit by living the Scout Oath and Law in his daily life
Merit badges are awarded to Scouts for fulfilling requirements in specific fields on interest. There are over 100 merit badges in subject areas that include careers, sports, hobbies and Scouting skills. They can help a Scout discover abilities he did not know he had or discover fields of interest he has little exposure to. Merit badges can help guide a Scout toward a career, enrich his life, hone his fitness, enhance his ability to help others, and stimulate his personal growth.

When all of the requirements for a rank have been completed, the Scout will partcipate in a Scoutmaster Conference. After the Scoutmaster conference, the Scout will then be reviewed, not tested/re-tested, by members of the troop committee. After passing the Board of Review, the Scout is eligible to wear the visible sign of his achievement - the new rank badge. It is suggested that the Scout be presented the new badge of rank immediately and then presented the rank formally at the next Court of Honor.

Boy Scout Courts of Honor are very important to the advancement program as they provide recognition for the Scouts' accomplishments (if no one notices , why do it?). Develop special ceremonies appropriate to each rank so that each rank presentation is meaningful and encourges the Scout to continue up the trail to Eagle.

Advancement combines all of the methods of Scouting to help the Scout become a better leader and accomplish the Aims of the Boy Scouts of America.


  • Scoutmaster Handbook
    • Chapter 6 Aims & Methods
    • Chapter 8 Advancement
<<  Back to Longs Peak Council home page

Last Updated Sunday, 26-Feb-2006 11:38:30 CST